Elementary Schools

The Vista Unified Elementary Instructional Sprint Team, composed of diverse teachers and administrators, was tasked with developing and designing instructional recommendations pertaining to various models in the 2020-21 school year. After ample research and consideration, the team determined the highest priority knowledge and skills that students will need to learn and the methodology in which we can accelerate learning to mitigate any learning loss. We are identifying a scope and sequence of learning, determining which assessments would best diagnose current learning levels, and creating an instructional framework that includes schedules for each learning model. As we began to formulate our models, we took into consideration the health and safety of students and staff, equity in providing instruction for all students, learning loss versus acceleration of learning, technology considerations, professional development, and childcare options. 


Elementary Schools Recommendations
Link to School Reopening Design Work, presented July 9th, 2020
Enlace al Trabajo de Diseño de Reapertura Escolar, presentado el 9 de julio de 2020

Initial Design

Initial Design

Implementation Action Steps

Click here to view the full Elementary Schools recommendation document. Additional implementation details will be posted in the coming weeks.

Sprint Team Members

Lead: Lori Higley, Executive Director Elementary Lead: Jenny Peirson, Principal, Beaumont Phoebe Pierce, Elementary School Teacher Reagan Duncan, Elementary School Teacher Liz Weiser, Elementary School Teacher Courtney Griffin, Elementary School Teacher Lara Sims, Elementary School Teacher Cara Homer, Elementary School Teacher Lindsay Johnson, Elementary Assistant Principal Jenna Bradshaw, Elementary School Teacher Valerie Holseth, Elementary School Teacher Crystal Fry, Elementary School Teacher Jill Schmidt, Elementary School Teacher Janet Robinson, Elementary School Teacher Tamara Hanford, Elementary School Teacher Linda Marshall, Elementary School Teacher Mario Santiago, Elementary School Teacher Rya Hege, Elementary School Teacher

Forum Information

The Elementary Schools Sprint Team forum was conducted on May 19, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. and May 27, 2020 at 5:00 p.m., each with approximately 80 attendees. 

Forum Slide Deck Link
Forum Feedback Link